The Countdown Begins

Today marks 5 months until I lace up my running shoes for the New York City Marathon as a member of Team Every Mother Counts. I haven’t started my marathon training program officially yet, I will get going with that on June 28. I’m already excited!!

Before I can start focusing on the marathon, June 21 will bring my 3rd running of the Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon (Grandma’s Marathon) and my 2nd time running it with my dad! My training currently consists of prepping for the half after just finishing a 25 km (15.5 mile) trail race up the North Shore on the Superior Hiking Trail. It was an epic race with three giant climbs before the turnaround and then we got to climb all three peaks again on the way back. Add in some knee deep mud and you have yourself an adventure! I was lucky to get to run it with one of my great friends, KP, and husband, B {but he was far faster than us and really running with B means standing at the starting line with him}.

IMG_6261 IMG_6264

With only a few weeks to go until Grandma’s Half, I’m busy logging miles with the Charity Miles app for Every Mother Counts. You can join me in making your runs count for Every Mother Counts be downloading it today and logging your miles when you walk, run or bike for EMC!

You can also donate to support my personal fundraiser for Every Mother Counts. Every penny makes the difference in the lives of moms around the globe!

Leave a Reply

