Uphill…Both Ways!

My training plan had this weekend’s long run at 12-14 miles. I decided to run on some “softer” ground and hit up one of my favorite spots for 12 miles one some single track trails. There is a wonderful 6 mile, very hilly, yet not too technical loop near our house.

Trail running definitely slows me down, but it also provides much more elevation gain (500+ feet on each loop) than I would have on the roads. Talk about trashing my quads. I felt great throughout the run and was grateful to have one of my friends join me for the second 6 mile loop. She dragged me through some of the sections, but it was worth it!

I’m 3 months out from the NYC marathon…and I cannot wait!

IMG_6890

Leave a Reply

